Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Once
Cover of Once
Once
Eve Trilogy, Book 2
Borrow Borrow Borrow
In this breathless sequel to Eve, Anna Carey returns to her tale of romance, adventure, and sacrifice in a world that is both wonderfully strange and chillingly familiar, perfect for fans of The...
In this breathless sequel to Eve, Anna Carey returns to her tale of romance, adventure, and sacrifice in a world that is both wonderfully strange and chillingly familiar, perfect for fans of The...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • In this breathless sequel to Eve, Anna Carey returns to her tale of romance, adventure, and sacrifice in a world that is both wonderfully strange and chillingly familiar, perfect for fans of The Handmaiden's Tale.

    When you're being hunted, who can you trust?

    For the first time since escaping from her School, Eve can finally sleep soundly. She is living in Califia, protected from the terrifying fate that awaits orphaned girls in The New America in the year 2041. But she was forced to abandon Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at Califia's gates. When Eve gets word that Caleb is in trouble, she sets out into the wild again to rescue him, only to be captured and brought to the City of Sand. Trapped inside the city walls, Eve uncovers a shocking secret about her past—and must confront the harsh reality of her future.

About the Author-

  • Anna Carey graduated from New York University and has an MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. She lives in Los Angeles.

Reviews-

  • DOGO Books beginagain - The first book in this series was okay, it looked really good but was really okay. I saw the second book and since i had already read the first i decided to read it. The book not only started off better but the twists and turns in it made it amazing. It was almost as if everything that happened in the first book was rethought of completely in a different way and that the author changed the direction of the book. If you read the first one I would highly recommend reading this one. Now i really can't wait for the 3rd book Rise.
  • School Library Journal

    October 1, 2012

    Gr 9 Up-In Once, Carey continues the story of Eve, a teenager living in a postapocalyptic world. In Eve, she escaped becoming a forced child-bearer only to discover that she had been specially marked by the King of New America and could not get away so easily. Here, she is being sheltered in an enclave for escaped women, another look at the series' theme of separation and distrust between the genders. When she is drawn out of her safe haven to search for her lost true love, Caleb, all does not go as planned. A twist quickly changes Eve's situation, but unfortunately fails to make her story any more probable. Likewise, detailed explanations of the formation of New America don't illuminate the story so much as reveal the poor foundation on which it is constructed. Interesting side characters are regularly shunted aside in favor of the bland protagonist and her cardboard love interest, and attempts to explore larger ideas fizzle before they develop. Purchase only where the first book was popular.-Eliza Langhans, Hatfield Public Library, MA

    Copyright 2012 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    June 1, 2012
    This second book in the Eve series finds Eve trapped in the tyrannical City of Sand in this near-future dystopia. Sometime in the mid-21st century, the world tries to recover from a plague that wiped out most humans. The former governor of California has established a repressive monarchy that controls the lives of the population under his jurisdiction, while most cities, including San Francisco, are abandoned. Eve, running from The New America, became separated from her boyfriend, Caleb, in the previous installment. This time she's captured by New America soldiers and taken to the former Las Vegas, now ruled by the King, who's rebuilding the city with slave labor. There, Eve learns that she has a whole new privileged identity with the royal family. When Caleb contacts her, however, she sneaks out to meet him and becomes involved with the dissidents who intend to foment a rebellion. All does not go well, and Eve finds herself in a situation wherein she must make a desperate bargain with the deceitful King. Carey delivers a believably devastated world, sparsely populated by savvy survivors, and keeps pages flipping throughout most of the story, although the romance is standard stuff. If the book's crisis is a bit predictable, the sudden, menacing ending ought to propel readers to the next book in the series. Suspenseful. (Dystopian romance. 12 & up)

    COPYRIGHT(2012) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    September 1, 2012
    Grades 10-1 In this sequel to Eve (2011), Eve is now living in a female-only enclave in Califia, safe from New America's soldiers but missing her love, Caleb. After she is betrayed by a settlement resident, she is taken to the King's City of Sand, where difficult truths and unexpected discoveries (including an underground resistance to the King's oppressive policies) bring dilemmas and tough decisions, putting both Eve and others in jeopardy. Despite some predictable story lines, Eve's first-person, intimately detailed narrativewhich incorporates suspense, romance, and fantasy elementsmake this dystopian fiction an absorbing, well-paced read. An open-ended conclusion leaves room for another installment.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2012, American Library Association.)

  • Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN on EVE. "A gripping, unforgettable adventure—and a fresh look at what it means to love."
  • Cynthia Hand, New York Times bestselling author of Hallowed "A thoughtful, heart–wrenching, and romantic book that I inhaled in one sitting."
  • Kirkus Reviews "Carey...keeps pages flipping throughout most of the story...[and] the sudden, menacing ending ought to propel readers to the next book in the series."
  • Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "Eve again narrates, savvier and stronger, with plentiful backstory and former characters appearing. [ONCE] remains an exciting page–turner for female readers."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 25 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Once
Once
Eve Trilogy, Book 2
Anna Carey
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Once
Once
Eve Trilogy, Book 2
Anna Carey
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Seaman High School, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close