Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Blackbird
Cover of Blackbird
Blackbird
Blackbird Series, Book 1
Borrow Borrow Borrow
From the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is—and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only...
From the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is—and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you
  • SpacerOptions for Eve by Anna Carey
    Eve
    Anna Carey
  • SpacerOptions for Once by Anna Carey
    Anna Carey
  • SpacerOptions for Rise by Anna Carey
    Anna Carey
  • SpacerOptions for Eve by Anna Carey
    Eve
    Anna Carey
  • SpacerOptions for This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
    Marieke Nijkamp
  • SpacerOptions for Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
    Ruta Sepetys

 

Description-

  • From the author of the Eve trilogy comes the breathless story of a girl racing to figure out who she is—and how to stay alive. When a nameless girl wakes up on the subway tracks, she knows only one thing for sure: people want her dead. Can she find them before they track her down? This pulse-pounding contemporary thriller is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner, The Darkest Minds, and Legend.

    Things I Know Are True:

  • I am in Los Angeles
  • I woke up on the train tracks at the Vermont/Sunset station
  • I am a teenage girl
  • I have long black hair
  • I have a bird tattoo on the inside of my right wrist with the letters and numbers FNV02198
  • People are trying to kill me

About the Author-

  • Anna Carey graduated from New York University and has an MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. She lives in Los Angeles.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    October 1, 2014

    Gr 9 Up-Fast-paced second-person narration places readers squarely in the head of an amnesiac teen girl who only knows that she has a blackbird tattoo on her wrist and that someone is trying to kill her. Quickly adopting the nickname Sunny, the main character soon finds herself framed for theft. Not trusting the police, she manages to find sanctuary among a group of wealthy Los Angeles teens. Romantic tension builds between the protagonist and Ben, her rescuer. Sunny soon discovers abilities she didn't know she had: being able to dodge assassin's bullets and also excelling in close hand-to-hand combat when cornered by pursuers. Tantalizing flashes of memories, along with clues from her assailants, reveal that Sunny is a family-less teen runaway who depended on a handsome friend to survive the rigors of being hunted by the jaded elite. Plenty of plot twists will leave readers guessing as to who is trustworthy. Inspired by Richard Connell's classic short story, "The Most Dangerous Game," the novel draws to a satisfying close but leaves plenty of room for a sequel.-Madigan McGillicuddy, Atlanta-Fulton Public Library, Atlanta, GA

    Copyright 2014 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    July 15, 2014
    A young woman runs from unknown enemies in this heart-pounding mystery.Sunny (real name unknown) wakes on a Los Angeles subway track, a train hurtling toward her and no memory of who she is or how she got there. She escapes before the police can ask questions but quickly finds herself fleeing violent strangers who seem hell-bent on killing her. She has few clues to her identity: a blackbird and a short string of numbers and letters freshly tattooed on her wrist and a knapsack containing a small notebook in which a cryptic message instructs her to call an unfamiliar phone number, $1,000 in cash, a pocketknife and a can of Mace. Dreams of running from danger with a boy she doesn't recognize but with whom she may have been in love could hold the key to Sunny's past. The action never stops, as Sunny is framed for robbery and arson, while a mysterious man focused on revenge hunts her down. Sunny's story is told through a flawless second-person narration, but the use of third-person to convey the viewpoints of several secondary characters knocks readers out of the carefully constructed, intensely immediate position of protagonist.This edgy, action-packed thriller gives future genre offerings something to aspire to. (Thriller. 15-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2014) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    September 1, 2014
    Grades 7-10 Carey's latest is a high-concept thriller: a girl with no memory is hunted through L.A. by a shadowy organization, and to survive, she must discover who she is and what they want. The narrative also has a hook: the story is told in second person, so it is you who wakes up pinned under a subway train with no idea how you got there. This nameless you adopts the nickname Sunny, meets a suspiciously helpful boy named Ben, and is harried at every turn by strangers intent on killing her. Carey's atypical narrator works well in generating immediacy, a suspenseful mystery, and a frenetic pace but fares less well in the gradual unveiling of the answers, as Carey employs other viewpoints to flesh out the picture. This story starts strong with high stakes and propulsive action, but it does lose some steam as repetitive chase and escape scenes lead to minimal payoff. When the smoke clears, there isn't much for readers to hang on to, and the abrupt ending leaves the bulk of the story for the next volume.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2014, American Library Association.)

  • Kass Morgan, NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling author of THE 100 "Tense, taut, and deliciously disorienting, BLACKBIRD kept me guessing at every turn."
  • Kirkus Reviews "Told through a flawless second–person narration...This edgy, action-packed thriller gives future genre offerings something to aspire to."
  • School Library Journal "Plenty of plot twists will leave readers guessing as to who is trustworthy."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperTeen
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 25 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Blackbird
Blackbird
Blackbird Series, Book 1
Anna Carey
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Blackbird
Blackbird
Blackbird Series, Book 1
Anna Carey
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Seaman School District 345, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close